How I became a millionaire

A young man asked an old rich man how he made his money.

The old guy said, “Well, son, it was 1932. The depth of the Great Depression. I was down to my last 5p.

“I invested that 5p in an apple. I spent the entire day polishing the apple and, at the end of the day, I sold the apple for 10p.

“The next morning, I invested that 10p in two apples. I spent the entire day polishing them and sold them at 5:00 pm for 20p. I continued this system for a while, by the end of which I’d accumulated a fortune of £14.00.”

“And that’s how you built an empire?” the boy asked.

“Heavens, no!” the man replied. “Then my wife’s father died and left us two million pounds .

Leave a Reply

